Always Learning to be Average

by

I was at my community swimming pool yesterday and when my child went off to swim with another child I was abandoned within audio range of a conversation between two parents of children the same age and grade as my child. Ooops, I forgot my headphones!

Now while I’m no snoop when it comes to incessant asinine conversations between parents I do not consider cultural or intellectual peers, I am a social observer and am always eager to learn new things. Keep in mind these other parents are–for the most part–college educated from second, third, and forth-tier universities and are in the top-10 percent of U.S. household income. Not hicks by any means.

So as an open-minded, progressive gentleman of the 21st century striving to be the best father I can be, I figured all information is good information and I could LEARN some things (and I forgot my headphones) from other parents. Besides, for some reason these people were totally breathlessly loud and dramatic in their analysis of all things important.

I learned a few things I never knew before:

  • If a student’s math homework is too difficult, the student should just skip the hard problems because the curriculum is too hard anyway.
  • Girls love American Girls dolls and are not good at video games at all.
  • Boys love violent video games like “God of War” and never go outdoors anymore.
  • Moms worry when six graders do not txt that they have successfully arrived at school.
  • Children should not hear about the bad things in the news because they wouldn’t understand.
  • The movie “Psycho” is perfectly fine for eight-year-old children.
  • Children shouldn’t compare themselves with other children or siblings because every kid is different and special.
  • There’s nothing wrong with the letter grade “C.”
  • You have to get your child to bed early on school days because they are grumpy and mean when you wake them in the morning and will treat you disrespectfully.
  • The school’s expectations are just too high.
  • “Things” are so much different today than they were when we were kids.
  • “Doing laps” in the lap pool generally means standing in one end and talking about simplistic bullshit that you know nothing about.

Uhhhh, is it me? Are my expectations too high? Am I the only parent who believes that kids can be challenged? Maybe I’m a dick because I don’t believe kids (esp. girls) have to be stereotyped into very narrow cylinders for a lifetime. Maybe I’m just wrong to believe that children have the potential for intelligence, discipline, creativity, and adventure.

For some weird reason, mediocrity has never been something I comprehended.

I must be one of those progressives that the conservative commentators warned you about.

8 Responses to “Always Learning to be Average”

  1. Johnny Says:

    I’d really love to hear JANG’s thoughts on this.

  2. Miss CheeVious Says:

    You are not a dick. More fathers should DEMAND more; especially if they have sons.

    As a mother…I want more than a frickin’ text. I want excellent grades PLUS the desire for more knowledge outside the myopic world that academia is shoveling down their throats; it’s all testing and processes now. The schools are not demanding more of our kids, they’ve just added more assessments into the curriculum. I, as the parent, am the only one who should be able to demand MORE of my child.

    I am a single mom raising my son in an era where the news includes yet another President implying that a war, that has spanned my son’s entire life, is again, hypothetically over…maybe.

    I will, I MUST, instill more in my child than to blindly accept the burdens that are thrust on him. If I leave it to the schools/institutions, peers, or the TV…he will only learn to follow the masses instead of learning to plug in his headphones, drown out the mindless chatter, and MOVE.

  3. Ty Hardaway Says:

    Miss CheeVious. Wow, that was incredible.

    It’s so sad how so many parents just don’t do anything except text on their Blackberry things anymore.

    I’m so fortunate that my kid goes to a good school but it’s still The System like any public institution. That’s where we, as parents, come into play. To supplement, advise, and dispel. My kid asks hard questions, and questions the bullshit. Amen.

  4. SD Prof Says:

    Great post. As parents of girls, we must teach our girls to resist narrow stereotypes about what girls excel at or don’t excel at. The social forces these girls face in school, in the weak-ass media and from all the other mediocre adults that surround them is intense. It’s like these moms were parroting all the crap they’ve heard on tee-vee and from Dr. Laura, and from whoever else because they’re too mediocre to have an original thought or opinion. Or better yet, too dumb to critically think about what they observe (sample size of 2 = reality). And MissCheeVious is spot on about schools demanding less. Half of the year is dedicated to “test” prep. The curriculum is focused on teaching to these tests.

  5. Grayman Says:

    My meat eating carnivore daughter is going to destroy children raised by wimpy parents such as the ones you describe!

    I hope wimpy parents keep producing wimpy kids so they can all work for my daughter when they grow up.

    -Grayman

  6. Robin Madel Says:

    Math is hard!

  7. Ty Hardaway Says:

    SD Prof: I call it the pink ceiling.

    Robin: Barbie®™ is always right! Math is logic.

    Grayman: Work for your daughter is right…in her mailroom or driving her around.

  8. Scott Says:

    Wow…no wonder our culture and country is at risk of being taken over by the Chinese without a shot being fired…

    I maintain my hypothesis that the barrier to entry for childbearing is:
    A) Too low
    B) Too easy
    C) Too pleasurable
    D) All of the above

    We make people pass a test to drive a car. We should at least ask as much before these brain-dead lemmings procreate any more…

Leave a Reply

